Sunday, April 10, 2011

Oklahoma Book Award

Elegy for Trains has been awarded the 2011 Oklahoma Book Award for Poetry.

This award is given annually by the Oklahoma Center for the Book, a state affiliate of the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress, and honors one book each in five categories (poetry, design/illustration, children/young adult, non-fiction, and fiction) either written by an Oklahoman author or addressing a subject directly relevant to Oklahoma.  
Here are the past winners in poetry:
1990: Wiliam Kistler
1992: Carol Hamilton
1993: Jim Barnes
1994: Carter Revard
1995: Joy Harjo
1996: Francine Ringold
1997: Renata Treitel
1998: Betty Shipley
1999: Mark Cox
2000: N. Scott Momaday
2001: Carolyne Wright
2002: Ivy Dempsey
2003: Joy Harjo
2004: Laura Apol
2005: Francine Ringold
2006: Leanne Howe
2007: Carl Sennhenn
2008: Sandra Soli
2009: Nathan Brown
2010: Jeanetta Calhoun Mish

1 comment:

  1. Congratutlations, Dr. Myers! I really enjoyed your book. I've even included "Jonah and Pinnochio" in the liturgy I'm planning for my funeral (hopefully many years away). Thank you for your work; I hope to read more from you in the coming years.